UIC boys capture crown

Subscribe Now September 06, 2011 at 11:21am

THE University of Immaculate Conception (UIC) stunned Ateneo de Davao University, 25-12, 20-25, 25-17, to capture the elementary boys volleyball crown of the Davao Association of Colleges and Schools Inc. (Dacs) Sportsfest Sunday at the AdDU Matina campus sports complex. UIC's big victory in the category averted an Ateneo sweep in volleyball in this year's edition of the annual Dacs competition.

Ateneo de Davao cornered three titles after its girl's volleyball squad beat UIC in the championship showdown, 25-18, 25-12.

Ateneo earlier won both the secondary boy's and girls' crowns and looked headed for another perfect finish this year until UIC pulled off a shocking victory.

Nathaniel Hipolito sizzled for UIC's title-clinching win on the way to being named best spiker and most valuable player (MVP) of the tournament.

Other invividual awardees include Chris V. Villarte of ACD (best receiver), Dux Euan L. Yambao of UIC (best server), Joachim Raphael Campanilla of AdDU (best setter) and Jude Wenz Toriaga (best scorer).

In the elementary girls division, Catherine Jane Santos of AdDU was picked MVP. Other awardees were Axle Norie Albores of UIC (best receiver), Joanne Navales of UIC (best server), Rychel Marie Constantino of Ateneo (best setter), Faith Janine Nisperos of Ateneo (best spiker) and Gyrill Moskito (best scorer).

Alyssa Aldwin Alterado of Ateneo was adjudged MVP in the secondary girl's volleyball while four of her teammates also made it to the list of individual awardees. They are Karyn Trisha Bacon (best receiver), Allia Paula MaspiĀ¤as (best server) and Nicole Frando (best setter). Smad's Erika Velasquez was picked best blocker and UIC's Jessibeth Perez and Vina Vera Alinas were named best spiker and best scorer, respectively.

In the secondary boy's category, Marc Dave Quisido of Ateneo ended up winning the MVP plum, aside from being selected best setter. Orher awardees include Eli Engcog of Holy Cross College of Sasa (best receiver), Moses Deo Quinanola of AdDU (best server), Rene Cajoles of AdDU (best blocker), Carlo Lucenara of HCCS (best spiker) and Angelo Alba of AdDU (best scorer).

Source: sunstar.com.ph

« Tiger Airways to fly to Davao Davao gears up for M.I.C.E. »