DavSur voters approve of Davao Occidental

Subscribe Now October 30, 2013 at 07:18pm

The confirmation of the creation of Davao Occidental province earned an overwhelming "yes" votes from the majority of those who actually participated in the plebiscite in Davao del Sur on Monday.

Though the Provincial Board of Canvassers got the partial but official results of the plebiscite from Digos City and 13 municipalities as of 3:00 pm today, the “yes” votes marked a vast margin from the number of “no” votes.

The partial and official results revealed that 176,285 voted for the establishment of the Davao Occidental, while 53,170 votes do not approve of the new province.

The figures were drawn from the canvassed plebiscite returns from Digos City and municipalities of Bansalan, Hagonoy, Magsaysay, Matanao, Padada, Sta. Cruz, Malalag, Sta. Maria, Sulop, Kiblawan, Malita, Don Marcelino and Jose Abad Santos.

As of this writing, the PBOC still awaits the arrival of the plebiscite returns from Sarangani, the farthest town of the province.

PBOC chair and Davao del Sur provincial election supervisor Atty. Ma. Febes Barlaan expected that the proclamation of winner would be done today.

She said that the formal approval for the creation of Davao Occidental will need majority of the votes of Davao del Sur’s registered voters who actually voted during the plebiscite which was synchronized with the barangay election on Monday.

At present, Davao del Sur has 337 barangays with 553,092 registered voters.

Once officially proclaimed winner, the “yes” votes would formally affirm the establishment of Davao Occidental as the newest province in the country to be formed out of the southern part of Davao del Sur.

President Benigno Aquino approved of the creation of the new province on January 14, 2013 through Republic Act 10360 or An Act Creating the Province of Davao Occidental.

It will cover the municipalities of 2nd district of Davao del Sur, namely Don Marcelino, Jose Abad Santos, Sta. Maria, Sarangani and Malita which will be the capital town and seat of the government of Davao Occidental.

Digos City and the municipalities of Bansalan, Hagonoy, Magsaysay, Matanao, Padada, Sta. Cruz, Kiblawan, Malalag and Sulop will remain under the Davao del Sur province.

Meanwhile, Barlaan bared that all city and municipal board of canvassers in the province have already proclaimed yesterday the winners in the barangay elections.

Source: pia.gov.ph

« PNP: Barangay polls in Davao City peaceful and orderly Organic farming option a boon for Davao resort »