Winning reps, councilors in Davao proclaimed

Subscribe Now May 15, 2019 at 06:54am

DAVAO CITY (MindaNews/14 May) – Newly elected representatives and councilors of Davao City’s 2nd and 3rd Districts were proclaimed on Tuesday afternoon, but the proclamation of the winning candidates in the 3rd District was delayed due to the failure of the clustered precincts from three schools to transmit election returns.

Atty. Krisna Samantha Caballero, Davao City election officer and chair of the board of canvassers (BOC), told reporters after the proclamation that they didn’t know what caused the “very short delay” at Davao City National High School, Don Cesario Villa Abrille Elementary School and Bolton Elementary School.

“That’s why, hindi ko pa alam, tinatanong ko pa kaya (I do not know, I’m still asking) I cannot talk about it right now kung may problema din ba sa transmission or hindi lang napasok (if there was a problem in the transmission or it was not included),” she said.

As of 5:40 p.m., the BOC had yet to proclaim the winning candidates in the 3rd district.

Caballero headed the proclamation at the session hall of the Sanguniang Panlungsod attended by winning candidates, comprising veterans and newbies, and their families and supporters.

Vincent J. Garcia, who served as 1st district representative from 2001 to 2010, was proclaimed at 3:48 p.m. He ran unopposed for the same post under the Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP) and garnered 174,389 votes.

He will replace his sister incumbent Rep. Mylene Garcia-Albano, now on her third and last term.

Another returning representative, Isidro Ungab of the city’s 3rd district, who served 2007 to 2016, had also been proclaimed.

Ungab also ran under the HNP and garnered 160,732 votes.

He will replace his brother, incumbent 3rd District Representative Alberto T. Ungab.

Ungab chaired the committee on ways and means in the 15th Congress and committee on appropriations, dubbed the most powerful committee in the Lower House, during the 16th Congress.

The younger Ungab was also elected as councilor of the city’s 3rd District.

For 2nd District councilors, re-electionist Councilor Danilo Dayanghirang garnered 123,621 votes, the highest among the 22 candidates; re-electionist Councilor Diosdado Mahipus, 121,201; Louie John Bonguyan, 120,049; Ralph Abella, 106,833; Augusto Javie G. Campos, 106,042; Dante Apostol, 105,290; Richlyn Justol-Baguilod, 105,110; and Jonard Dayap, 95,776.

For 3rd District councilors, incumbent Rep. Alberto Ungab garnered the most number of votes with 144,120; Wilberto Al-Ag, 123,300; re-electionist Dr. Mary Joselle Villafuerte, 116,378; re-electionist Conrado Baluran, 114,603; Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz, 113,798; re-electionist Antoinette Principe, 112,911; Jesus Joseph Zozobrado, 104,996; and Bai Hundra Cassandra Dominique Advincula, 100,526.


« The Davao boys are headed to the Senate PHL-China ‘medical diplomacy’ comes to Davao City »