New law renames Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro

Subscribe Now May 23, 2019 at 09:44pm

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has signed Republic Act (RA) 11297 renaming Compostela Valley province to Davao de Oro.

Under RA 11297, changing the name of Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro will need to be ratified by majority of the residents of the province through a plebiscite.

Compostela Valley is the only province in Davao region that does not bear the name "Davao."

The Davao Region, or Region 11, is composed of Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, and Davao Occidental.

The law instructs the Commission on Elections to conduct and supervise the plebiscite in compliance with Section 13(g) of Republic Act 7160 or the Local Government Code of 1991.

RA 11297 will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper or general circulation.

Compostela Valley Governor Jayvee Tyron Uy said renaming Compostela Valley would mean more investments in the province.

RA 11297 was signed by Duterte on April 17, but a copy of the law was released by the Palace just on Thursday, May 23.


« Heat index of 43°C scorches Davao City Davao City pitches business, tourism opportunities to South Korean investors »