Mining operations banned in Davao City

Subscribe Now May 06, 2015 at 09:19am

The Davao City Council passed on final reading Tuesday an ordinance, banning mining operations in the city, with nine councilors voting in affirmative, two against and five abstentions.

Councilor Diosdado Mahipus went out of the hall during the nominal voting and the rest were absent.

Councilors Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz, Joanne Bonguyan, Leah Librado-Yap, April Dayap, Joselle Villafuerte, Bernard Al-ag, Leo Avila, Danilo Dayanghirang, and Petite Principe-Castrodes supported the ordinance.

Those who voted "no" were Councilors Jimmy Dureza and Bonifacio Militar. Councilors Nilo Abellera Jr., Al Ryan Alejandre, Victorio Advincula Jr., Marissa Abella, and Rachel Zozobrado abstained.

Meanwhile, Councilors Edgar Ibuyan Sr., Halila Sudagar, Louie John Bonguyan, January Duterte, Tomas Monteverde IV, Mabel Acosta, and Karlo Bello were on leave.

Councilor Rene Elias Lopez was the temporary presiding officer since Vice Mayor Paolo Duterte was on leave.

The ordinance disallows any entity to engage in any business involving mining operations within Davao City.

Section 5 states that "no approval shall be granted or issued by the city through its Sangguniang Panglungsod (City Council) to any person, natural or juridical, to undertake any and all forms of mining operation in any area within the territorial jurisdiction of Davao City, except rocks and mineral substances classified under the quarry resources."

Anyone found guilty will be charged with administrative, civil or criminal cases with one year of imprisonment or a fine of P5,000.

Avila and Dayanghirang sponsors and co-sponsors the proposed ordinance, respectively.


« 25k jobs to be offered in Davao City job fair BIR padlocks 14 restaurant branches in Davao »