PNoy signs law creating Davao Occidental

Subscribe Now January 24, 2013 at 10:07am

President Aquino has signed into law a measure creating the province of Davao Occidental, formerly Davao del Sur, which consists of five towns. The capital town and seat of government of Davao Occidental will be the municipality of Malita. Don Marcelino, Jose Abad Santos and Saranggani also form part of the province.

Republic Act 10360 states that incumbent representatives and other local officials of Davao del Sur shall continue their term of office.

The President also signed RA 10359, declaring March 26 of every year as a “special working holiday” in the province of Cebu in commemoration of its liberation from the Japanese during World War II.

The President signed on Jan. 9 RA 10355, which doubles the bed capacity of the Jose Lingad Memorial General Hospital in San Fernando City in Pampanga from 250 to 500.


« Davao City Council approves P53-M for 15 flooded villages Floods prompt preemptive evacuation in parts of Davao City »